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TOWNSHIP OF FREDON
443 Route 94, Newton, NJ 07860

CERTIFICATE OF SMOKE DETECTOR/CARBON MONOXIDE AND FIRE EXTINGUISHER COMPLIANCE APPLICATION

Date of Closing 			
Owner: ________________________________________________________________
Address:  _______________________________________________________________
Block_______________________ Lot_______________________
Contact Person for Inspection:  _______________________________________________
Contact Phone Number: ____________________________________________________
Contact Email:___________________________________________________________
Listing Agent Name & Phone Number Real Estate Company: ___________________________
_____________________________________________________________________
Address/City/State: _______________________________________________________
Type of Certificate Requested  	Sale of Property                 Annual Rental
														

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE CODE ENFORCEMENT OFFICIAL
Abandoned Property Registration	 ______YES  	______NO 	 _______N/A	
Outstanding Fees:________________________	
Code Enforcement Official Approval: 	_____Yes  	____No 

____________________________________        	________________________
                      Code Enforcement Official 					Date		
														
       	   	
Email, mail or fax application form to:
deputyclerk@fredonnj.gov
443 Route 94 Newton NJ 07860
Fax: 973-383-8711

[bookmark: _GoBack]Contact Patricia Carlson (973) 383-7025 x 222 with any questions

APPLICATION MUST BE APPROVED BY CODE ENFORCEMENT OFFICIAL 
BEFORE INSPECTION CAN BE SCHEDULED
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CERTIFICATE OF SMOKE DETECTOR/CARBON MONOXIDE AND FIRE EXTINGUISHER COMPLIANCE

The State of New Jersey requires that you obtain a Certificate of Smoke Detector/Carbon Monoxide/Fire Extinguisher Compliance in order to sell, rent, or lease a home. It is the responsibility of the owner/seller to get this certification. In Fredon Township, the Fredon Volunteer Fire Company conducts these inspections. 

Certificate of Smoke Detector and Carbon Monoxide Alarm Compliance (CSDCMAC) inspection fees shall be based upon the amount of time remaining before the change of occupant/closing is expected. 

Requests received more than 10 business days prior to the 		 $50 
change of occupant/closing 

Request received four to 10 business days prior to change of 		 $70 
Occupant/closing

Request received fewer than four business days prior to 		$125 
change of occupant/closing

A second fee of $50.00 will be charged for any additional re-inspections that may be required. The inspector will require the Block and Lot numbers at the time of the inspection.  Inspections are valid for a period of six (6) months from the date of inspection.  Checks are payable to Fredon Volunteer Fire Company at the time of inspection.  

TYPE OF SMOKE DETECTORS REQUIRED
Ten-year sealed battery-powered single station smoke alarms shall be installed and shall be listed in accordance with ANSI/UL 217, incorporated herein by reference. However, a/c powered single or multiple-station smoke alarms installed as part of the original construction or rehabilitation project shall not be replaced with battery powered smoke alarms. The effective date of this subsection shall be January 1, 2019.*

PLACEMENT OF SMOKE DETECTORS FOR ONE AND TWO FAMILY RESIDENCES
The New Jersey State Uniform Safety Act, N.J.S.A.52:27D-198.1 states: a structure used or intended to be used for residential purposes by not more than two households, shall have a smoke-sensitive alarm device on each level of the structure and outside each separate sleeping area in the immediate vicinity of the bedrooms and located on or near the ceiling in accordance with the National Fire Protection Association standard No. 74-1984. The smoke sensitive device shall be tested and listed by a product certification agency recognized by the Division of Fire Safety.

WHERE TO PLACE SMOKE DETECTORS
Basement area: The basement smoke detector shall be installed in the basement, within 10 feet of the stairway. The detector shall not be located in the stairway. If installed on an open joists ceiling, the detector shall be placed on the bottom of the joists. For finished ceilings see note below.

Living area and/or First Floor: The living area smoke detector shall be installed in the living room and/or near the stairway leading to the upper level. The detector shall not be located in the stairway.

Bedroom areas: The bedroom areas smoke detector shall be located in the hall of area outside the bedrooms, within 10 feet of any bedroom door. In units with more than one bedroom area or with bedrooms on more than one floor, a detector is required within 10 feet of each bedroom.

Attic area: Finished attics only. The attic area smoke detector shall be located in the attic near the stairway from the floor below. The detector shall be placed as indicated in note below. Remember if there is a bedroom in the attic the detector must be within 10 feet of the bedroom door.

NOTE: Smoke detectors shall be mounted on the ceiling at least 4 inches from the wall or on the wall with the top of the detector not less than 4 inches or more than 12 inches below the ceiling at its highest point.

Smoke detectors shall have a low battery warning and test button for easy testing and maintenance. Fire alarm systems shall have operating instructions, testing instructions and maintenance instructions.

Should you have any questions regarding the placement or testing of detectors please do not hesitate to call our firehouse at 973-383-9424.

CARBON MONOXIDE ALARM 
Carbon monoxide alarms shall be installed in all dwelling units in buildings in one and two family or attached single family dwellings, except for units in buildings that do not contain a fuel burning device or have an attached garage, as follows:
1. Single station carbon monoxide alarms shall be installed and maintained in the immediate vicinity of the sleeping area(s). 
2. Carbon monoxide alarms may be battery-operated, hardwired or of the plugin type and shall be listed and labeled in accordance with UL-2034 and shall be installed in accordance with the requirements of this section and NFPA-720.

FIRE EXTINGUISHERS
Requirements for the placement of the extinguishers are as follows:
1. The extinguisher shall be within 10 feet of the kitchen and located in the path of egress;
2. The extinguisher shall be readily accessible and not obstructed from view;
3. The extinguisher shall be mounted using the manufacturer’s hanging bracket so the operating instructions are clearly visible.
4. The extinguisher shall be an approved, listed and labeled type with a minimum rating of 2A-10B:C and no more than 10 pounds;
5. The owner’s manual or written operation instructions shall be provided during the inspection and left for the new occupant;
6. The extinguisher shall be serviced and tagged by a certified Division of Fire Safety contractor within the past 12 months or the seller must have a receipt for a recently purchased extinguisher;
7. The top of the extinguisher shall not be more than five feet above the floor.
8. Exception: Portable fire extinguishers shall not be required for seasonal summer units. For purposes of applying this exception, “Seasonal Summer Unit” shall mean a dwelling unit rented for a term of not more than 125 consecutive days for residential purposes by a person having a permanent residence elsewhere but shall not include use or rental of living quarters by migrant, temporary, or seasonal workers in connection with any work or place where work is being performed.

[image: IMAGE - Smoke Detector Location Figures]
image1.gif
FIGURE 1

FIGURE 2
Dining /kmm.m [Bedroom Bedroom TV | Diing Kitchen ‘ Hedeaom
Room
! ® | % ®C
= ]
ki h Living Ronm
Living Room ‘ Bedrooft o ‘ Bedroom
®
eiroon]
Smake detector covegus
®
FGuRe 3 FGURE 4

s | 8 e ;
ol i 9 Living Room
Living Dining Basement Recreation Room
o P
b
FuRe s
Ciling. o
7 .
O kS

Here B
“Top of desetor scceptable here

NOTE:  Mieasurements shown are 1 closest
Edge of the dtestr

Remember: Detectors over ten years old — should be replaced!
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